History of BMA House
BMA House is a spectacular Grade II listed building which has been the headquarters of the British Medical Association since 1925.
BMA House was originally designed in 1910-11 for the Theosophical Society, a religious organisation, by Sir Edwin Lutyens. Unable to afford Lutyens’ plans for finishing the building and its garden, the society sold it to the BMA, which commissioned Lutyens to complete his work.
Further extensions were added by architects Cyril Wontner-Smith and Douglas Wood and in recent years the building was radically redeveloped by architects HOK to combine the best of its original design with modern facilities for the BMA’s members, staff, tenants and visitors.
Today the Great Hall, restored to Lutyens' original idea, is a showpiece 300-seat conference centre. Medical leaders are commemorated in many of the meetings rooms, among them Elizabeth Garret Anderson, the first woman doctor, and John Snow, the public health pioneer.
The Court of Honour features memorials to those who died in the first and second world wars. The Gates of Remembrance were designed by Lutyens and the central courtyard fountain and its statues by the sculptor James Woodford.
The Council Garden features physic plants and a commemoration of Charles Dickens, who wrote Bleak House, Hard Times, and Great Expectations in a house on the site.
BMA House is home to many businesses and organisations and is the setting for a wide range of corporate and private events. It hosts conferences, dinners, launches and weddings throughout the year. BMA House boasts a selection of committee rooms and a Council Chamber well-equipped with LCD displays, a projector, microphones and electronic voting.
Visiting BMA members can enjoy the comfortable Hastings Members Lounge and the new BMA Library. All members are entitled to a 25 per cent discount on venue hire.
See the BMA House corporate event hire website